Todd’s Weblog

A place to collect and share my random thoughts about running and other stuff

The new ride

Posted by toddruns on June 21, 2009

So I decided to build this new bike, with much help from my friend Lindsay  (who teaches science at Lakeville High but works part time at Maple Grove Cycling ). I was in search for the longest time for a titanium bike frame and I saw a few that caught my eye and maybe might fit in my budget. A Linskey Houseblend Cooper or maybe a used Litespeed from Ebay.

Then I saw this closeout Carbon fiber frame at Colorado Cycle for less money than the Ti frames and it was lighter too. A Titus Oseo. So, the project began, and after searching and weighing options and ordering about 40 different parts, I had the makings of a lightweight and rather cool looking (in my humble opinion) road bike:

IMG_0067a

Here’s a list of everything that went into the build:

Component

Brand/Name

Frame

Titus Oseo

Fork

Titus Oseo

Steerer Tube Compression Nut

FSA COMPRESSOR PRO

Headset

Cane Creek IS3

Headset Spacers

Generic carbon (40mm)

Stem

Easton EA70

Handlebars

FSA Energy Bar

Handlebar Tape

SRAM

Brake Levers

SRAM Rival Brake / shifters

Brake Calipers

Tektro TRP R920

Brake shoes

Inc w/ brake calipers

Brake Cables

Inc w/ brake calipers

Brake Cable Housing

Inc w/ brake calipers

Shifters

SRAM Rival

Derailleur-Front

SRAM Rival

Derailleur-Rear

SRAM Force

Derailleur Cables

Inc w/ shifters

Dealer Cable Housing

Inc w/ shifters

Bottom Bracket

SRAM Rival

Crank and front chainrings

SRAM Rival

Rear Cassette

SRAM Rival

Chain

SRAM OG1070

Pedals

BeBop ChromeMoly

Saddle

Selle Itialia C2

Seatpost

FSA SL-K Carbon Seatpost

Seatpost Clamp

Inc w/ frameset

Seatpost Bolt

Inc w/ frameset

Rim – front

Flit Letica

Rim – rear

Flit Letica

Front Spokes

Flit Letica

Rear Spokes

Flit Letica

Front Hub

Flit Letica

Rear Hub

Flit Letica

Skewers

J&L Titanium Super Light

Rim Tape

Velox

Tires

Continental 4000

Tubes

Bontrager

Bottle Cages

Minoura Dura Cage (AB100-4.5)

Computer

Cateye Strada Wireless

2 Responses to “The new ride”

  1. Caesar said

    Hello,
    Great looking bike. I’ve been contemplating on a frame up bike project as well. Was wondering about your Flit Leticas… how do you like them? How are they holding up? Thank you.

    • toddruns said

      I like the wheels fine. They were a good value – weight versus cost, so that’s why I used them. At least until I can afford something super nice. They are holding up fine – the graphics are coming loose in a few spots, but other than that – no problems. My foot slipped out of my cleats once and I kicked and bent a front spoke and after truing them up again, I’ve had no issues with them.

Leave a Reply

