Todd’s Weblog

A place to collect and share my random thoughts about running and other stuff

Superior 50k Trail Race

Posted by toddruns on May 22, 2010

Woo hoo!

What a fun race. What a freaking hard course (indeed the most challenging trail I’ve ever run on). What a beautiful day. What nice people. What a great adventure.

I start to assume there is little purpose to writing one of these anymore, because they usually consist of :

I started out fine, I got tired, I recovered, I got tired again, I felt better, I ran a bunch, the course is beautiful, aid station folks were great, I saw the finish, I either hammered it in OR was too tired to hammer it in, I finished in xx:xx.

The reality is, well that. I guess the coolest thing about these races is the emotional, physical and mental roller coaster that I ride. So in random order, here are some of my observations that I may need to remember again someday:

  • Because the footing is so tricky, the time spent looking around is less than ideal. Yet somehow, I was able to come away with great images of sun soaked trees and meadows, stands of pines and aspen again dappled with sunshine, small violet and white wildflowers, glimpses of lakes far off in the distance from the side of Moose Mountain, the scenic views off of Carlton Peak, the challenging approach to Carlton with all the rocks and big boulders and tricky footing, the boardwalks through the low areas and the relentless mud, mud and more mud.
  • The smiles and grins on the faces of the other runners should be included above, but they are a special treat and deserve their own bullet.
  • Running for a stretch from Sawbill to Oberg with Eric, keeping each other company and on some semblance of pace, joined occasionally by Rachel.
  • Running for a while with Rachel, having some company before the climb up Moose.
  • Being in a long snake line of runners headed up by Maria on the outbound trip up Moose Mountain, often wondering if it was worth it to try and pass and always deciding that it probably wasn’t.
  • Putting on my version of the afterburner down the hill after we finally got close to Oberg Aid station and the path widened enough to get by people. As I filled my bottle and got ready to leave I looked back to see the pack exiting the woods and I was glad I pushed it.
  • Spending some time on the trail with Zach who caught me shortly after leaving Oberg on the outbound and who was with me off and on up to Carlton and back into Sawbill.
  • See Sheila and Kara shortly after the turn-around.
  • Noticing how tired I was after Moose on the return, and slowing considerably until I realized that nothing was hurt, no injuries had reared their ugly heads (like my sore ankle or plantar fasciitis or knees or blisters…) – at which point I decided it was incumbent upon me to make a better effort to push myself a bit more.
  • Having Amy catch me a few miles from the finish and keep me from slowing down. We ran a few miles together and her knowledge of where were at helped me focus and be relieved that it was almost over. The final push down the gravel road to the finish was longer than I would have preferred, but it is downhill and once I got going it seemed bad form to slow down.
  • Seeing Mark, Sarah and Aaron near the finish line.
  • Thinking for a long time (at least from the top of Moose to the finish) how much I wanted to run this again.

Here’s the course profile I made from my gps.

Course Profile from GPS coordinates and TOPO USA software

Approximate split times:

Start to Oberg A.S., about 1:30

Oberg to Sawbill: 2:45

Turn around at Carlton: 3:05

Carlton to Sawbill: 3:20

Sawbill to Oberg: 4:46

Oberg to Finish: 6:43:06

Fuel – mostly gels (4), some PBJs and Gummies at aid stations, 3 s-caps, HEED in my handheld and plain water in my waist-belt. I’d carry more gels next time, and maybe take more s-caps. I only experienced signs of legs cramping a couple of times, I should have anticipated more and taken the s-caps earlier.

Shoes were Innov-8 Mud Roc 270s.

6 Responses to “Superior 50k Trail Race”

  1. Steve said

    Good race! Wish I’d had more of a chance to talk with you up there. You’re right – that course is just wicked.

  2. Londell said

    Congrats on a good race… I am amazed at the graph you provided using topo USA. Was this using a Garmin 305, 405, or 310? Looks so accurate, none like I have seen before…

    • toddruns said

      Thanks Londell. I got the coordinates from my Garmin 305, and I imported the tracks into TOPO USA software and used those points to generate the course profile. I think the altitude information in the Garmin is just too noisy and the graphs just look weird.

  3. Helen said

    Hey Todd – nice report – and thanks a mill for the alt profile – that is the first one I have seen! I will have to add a link to your report in mine if I may? That is when I get around to writing it…

    Helen

    • toddruns said

      Thanks Helen. Go ahead. I’ve seen other profiles but they were all from GPS data which can be kind of noisy.

  4. greg said

    Thanks for the information/graph. I just signed up and am excited to attempt this challenge for the first time. Greg

Leave a Reply

